Closing ceremony of ICPC World Finals Dhaka held

Champion of ICPC World Finals Dhaka is MIT of USA

Closing ceremony of the 45th "International Collegiate Programming Contest (ICPC)" was held on Thursday, November 10, 2022 at ICCB, Dhaka. The contest was hosted by University of Asia Pacific, and was supported by ICT Division and Bangladesh Computer Council.

The Minister of the Ministry of Planning of Bangladesh Mr. M. A. Mannan, MP was the chief guest of the program. The Hon'ble State Minister for the ICT Division of Bangladesh Mr. Zunaid Ahmed Palak MP was a special guest of the event. Besides, Dr. William B. Poucher, President of the ICPC Foundation & ICPC Executive Director was also present at the Program.

Chairman of the Board of Trustees of University of Asia Pacific (UAP), Dr. Mohammad Alauddin delivered a welcome speech. Before that, the Deputy Executive Director of ICPC & ICPC Director of World Finals Contests Dr. Michael J. Donahoo gave a short speech thanking everyone for a successful event. At the end of the program, the Vice-Chancellor of UAP & Director of ICPC World Finals Dhaka Prof. Dr. Qumrul Ahsan gave the closing remarks. Among others, the Senior Secretary of ICT Division Mr. N M Zeaul Alam PAA and the Executive Director of BCC Mr. Ranajit Kumar were also present at the program.

The team from Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), USA solved 11 problems out of 12 and became the champion of the 45th ICPC World Finals. In ICPC, the top four teams in the event receive Gold Medals. Then, the teams placed from fifth to eighth receive Silver Medals. While teams gaining ninth to twelfth places receive Bronze Medals.

By solving 10 problems, Peking University from China in Asia East won second place and The University of Tokyo took third place by solving 9 problems and received Gold Medal. South Korea's Seoul National University won Gold Medal by joining the top four teams. They solved 9 problems. ETH Zurich of Switzerland, Ecole Normale Supérieure de Paris of France, Carnegie Mellon University of USA, University of Warsaw of Poland won Silver Medals.

Bronze was awarded to Northern Eurasia's National Research University Higher School of Economics, Russia’s St. Petersburg State University, UK's University of Oxford and Vietnam's University of Engineering and Technology (VNU).

Eight universities from host country Bangladesh participated in the final round. Among them, Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology (BUET) became 51 and Shahjalal University of Science and Technology (SUST) became 56 by solving four problems each. Besides, the remaining six teams received honorable mentions. These teams are: University of Dhaka ranked 82nd, Jahangirnagar University ranked 98th, North South University ranked 107th, American International University-Bangladesh (AIUB) ranked 113rd, University of Asia Pacific (UAP) ranked 119th and Rajshahi University of Engineering & Technology (RUET) ranked 122nd.